Advocare Spark is a powdered energy drink that comes in easily portable sachets. This energy beverage describes itself as a ‘vitamin and amino acid’ supplement, giving you all your energy needs in a 7g serving.
Advocare Spark is an energy drink mix that is sugar-free. It’s full of vitamins, minerals, and nutrients. Advocare Spark is marketed as a supplement that can aid with energy and mental clarity.
However, if you have celiac disease and are on a gluten-free diet, you might need to stay away from Advocare Spark because no official claim has been made to clarify the gluten-free status of this energy drink.
In addition, the official FAQ page for the energy drink has this to say: AdvoCare® products are not produced at certified gluten-free manufacturing facilities.
Please read on if you wish to learn more about the nutritional value and ingredients of making the Advocare energy drink and why this energy drink isn’t gluten-free.
What is a gluten-free diet?
A gluten-free strategy is one in which gluten-containing items are avoided. Gluten is a protein present in wheat, rye, barley, triticale, and other grains.
A gluten-free diet is necessary for interpreting the signs and symptoms of celiac disease and other gluten-related medical disorders.
People who haven’t been diagnosed with a gluten-related medical problem are also adopting a gluten-free diet. Improved health, weight loss, and greater vitality are all touted advantages of the diet, but further study is needed.
It is possible to consume a healthy diet while avoiding gluten. A gluten-free diet, like any other diet, should be focused on including certain foods such as follows.
- Any whole, fresh vegetable
- Any whole, fresh fruit
- Lean proteins, such as beans and eggs
- Gluten-free baked goods, together with pancakes, waffles, and bread
What is celiac disease?
Celiac disease, also known as celiac sprue or gluten-sensitive enteropathy, is an immunological response to gluten, a protein in wheat, rye, and other grains.
Gluten produces an immunological reaction in your small intestine if you have celiac disease. Over time, this reaction damages the lining of your small intestine, preventing it from receiving certain nutrients.
When patients with celiac disease consume gluten, their bodies launch an attack on the meager. The villi, tiny fingerlike projections that border the small intestine and aid in nutrition absorption, are damaged due to these assaults.
Symptoms of Celiac Disease
Because Celiac disease affects everyone differently, it can be difficult to diagnose. There are around 200 symptoms of celiac disease that might affect the digestive tract or other regions of the body.
Some people get celiac disease as children, while others get it as adults. The cause behind this remains a mystery. The symptoms of celiac disease are listed below.
- Unexplained iron-deficiency anemia
- Bone or joint pain
- Osteoporosis or osteopenia
- Liver and biliary tract disorders
- Depression, or anxiety
- Peripheral neuropathy
Nutritional Facts of Advocare Spark
Advocare Spark contains vitamins and minerals to help boost your energy levels and performance. This powdered energy drink contains the following nutrients shown in the table below.
|Nutrients||Amount Per Serving||% Daily Value|
So, let’s find out what’s in a sachet of Advocare Spark energy drink.
A serving of Advocare Spark energy drink mix contains 15 calories.
A calorie determines energy equal to the amount of heat required to raise water temperature by one degree.
Advocare Spark energy drink has only 15 calories, which is small compared to what we need daily. As a result, you may consume one or two servings of Advocare Spark energy drink mix without disrupting your normal diet.
For various reasons, two primary definitions of calories are frequently employed. A minuscule calorie, or gram calorie, is the measure of heat necessary to inflate the temperature of one gram of water by one degree Celsius (commonly abbreviated as cal).
In nutrition, the large calorie, food calorie, or kilocalorie (Cal, Calorie, or kcal) is used to quantify the amount of heat necessary to cause the same rise in one kilogram of water.
The number of calories your body demands for basic tasks – such as laying in bed all day – is referred to as your basal metabolic rate (BMR). That’s where you start when inferring out how many calories you can eat and drink in a day. The amount and intensity you move then decide whether you have room in your salutary diet for extra calories.
According to researches, the daily recommended value of calorie intake in the US is around 2,500 for men and 2,000 for women.
Side Effects of Calories
Exceeding the number of calories might lead to few health issues as follows:
- Liver damage
- Jeopardized heart function
- Dizziness and fatigue
- Stress and depression
- Induce constipation
Is there sugar in Advocare Spark energy drink?
Advocare Spark contains no added sugar in its formula.
Sugar is the simplest classification of carbohydrates, consisting of a variety of sweet, pale, water-soluble molecules found in the sap of seed plants and the milk of animals. A crystalline tabletop and industrial sweetener applied in meals and beverages, Sucrose is the most prevalent sugar.
Refined sugar in a ‘moderate’ amount can be an acceptable element of a balanced diet. A reasonable consumption is defined as around 10% of total daily calorie intake, according to experts.
On the other hand, people who consume many sugary foods and beverages at the expense of more salutary food choices may consume many “empty calories.”
According to the American Heart Association (AHA), the highest amount of added sugars you should have daily are 37.5g for men and 25g for women.
Side Effects of Sugar
Sugar has been associated with an increased risk of health factors such as the following.
- Spiked and plummet glucose level.
- Intensify the risk of obesity, diabetes, and heart disease
- Affected immune function
- Tooth decay
- Gum disease
Advocare Spark Ingredients
Advocare Spark energy drink mix contains various ingredients in its formula, such as follows.
- Vitamin A
- Vitamin C
- Vitamin E
- Vitamin B6
- Vitamin B12
- Pantothenic acid
- Citric acid
- Natural flavor
- Artificial flavor
- Sucralose (Splenda)
- Silicon dioxide
Are the ingredients of Advocare Spark gluten-free?
We must make it a practice to examine the contents whenever we consume any product for various reasons. In this example, to see if the components in Advocare Spark energy drink are gluten-free.
The table below will show you the components and whether or not they are gluten-free, making it easy to comprehend and see the contents of the Advocare Spark energy drink.
|Ingredients||Gluten-free or not?|
|Vitamin B Complex||Yes|
|Gamma-aminobutyric acid (GABA)||Yes|
|Silicon dioxide||Most likely|
|Natural flavors||Most likely|
Although most of the ingredients can be considered gluten-free, the official website of Advocare Spark stated that their products are not produced in gluten-free facilities. Also, cross-contamination is possible since the facilities they use are not certified gluten-free.
Is caffeine in Advocare Spark gluten-free?
Considering the source of caffeine, we can totally say that it’s gluten-free and safe to use.
Advocare Spark energy drink has 120mg of caffeine per serving.
Caffeine is most commonly used to increase mental alertness, but it also has a variety of additional uses. In combination with analgesics (such as aspirin and acetaminophen) and a chemical called ergotamine, caffeine is used to treat migraine headaches by mouth or rectally.
If you’re like most people, caffeine is definitely a must need of your daily routine. Do you know how much caffeine can you have in a day?
Most people can take up to 400 mg of caffeine per day, the FDA’s suggested maximum.
Caffeine is a methylxanthine alkaloid found in various East Asian and South American plants’ nuts, seeds, and leaves. Adenosine is a structural partner and functions primarily as an adenosine receptor antagonist with euphoric and anti-inflammatory effects.
However, If you’re troubled by headaches, restlessness, or anxiety, you might want to adjust your caffeine intake. Caffeine should also be withdrawn by women who are pregnant, attempting to get pregnant or nursing.
Side Effects of Caffeine
Consuming caffeine in an excessive amount might cause severe health issues such as the following.
- Digestive Issue
- Muscle Breakdown
- High Blood Pressure
Is sucralose in Advocare Spark energy drink gluten-free?
The artificial sweetener sucralose is most often found in the “Splenda” brand. It has a sweetness that is 600 times sweeter than sugar and has no calories.
It may also be produced in a lab by substituting chlorine atoms for specific sugar hydrogen-oxygen groups. Despite worries about how it could affect a person’s health, the FDA believes it is safe.
Sucralose is a gluten-free sweetener found in gluten-free soft drinks, biscuits, and other confections. It’s a different kind of artificial sweetener than protein.
I have added a YouTube video to help you know more about sucralose.
Side Effects of Sucralose
The sweetener has been linked to several negative consequences, including the following.
- Skin rashes
- Panic attack
- Muscle ache
Is taurine in Advocare Spark gluten-free?
Taurine is a gluten-free amino acid that contains sulfur and supports metabolism.
Taurine is an amino acid found throughout the body, with the largest concentrations in the heart, retina, muscle cells, brain, and antibodies.
Taurine was discovered from bovine bile in 1827 by German scientists Friedrich Tiedemann and Leopold Gmelin and is derived from the Latin word Taurus, which means bull or ox.
Taurine is gluten-free and is commonly used as a nutritional supplement in gluten-free meals and beverages. Taurine is made up of chemical substances synthesized, resulting in the production process being gluten-free. As a result, taurine is gluten-free.
It’s good to know that the 200mg taurine content of Advocare Spark falls within the effective standard dosage range of 500-2,000mg per day. Consuming up to 3,000mg per day, on the other hand, is still considered safe.
Taurine is used to alleviate congestive heart failure and liver swelling. It is also used to improve sports performance, increase energy, and treat diabetes and other illnesses.
Is maltodextrin in Advocare Spark gluten-free?
Despite the name “malt,” which generally indicates that barley is used, the component maltodextrin is gluten-free.
Maltodextrin is a food additive that is widely used in the food industry. It’s present in a wide range of processed goods, including soft drinks, candy, and even certain beers. It’s frequently used as a thickening agent. Thus it’s included in certain newborn formulas.
Due to the nature of its manufacturing, maltodextrin is generally gluten-free, even when obtained from wheat. It’s usually regarded safe for those with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity who aren’t celiac.
Other Gluten-Free Energy Drinks
If you are searching for other gluten-free energy drink powder, you can try the G Fuel, Zipfizz, and Rogue energy drinks.
The gluten-free state of these energy drinks has been formally certified. They are sugar-free, low-calorie energy drinks full of vitamins and minerals that will keep you energized while you’re gaming.
If you are pondering about gluten-free canned energy drinks, here’s a handy list of them.
- Red Bull
- Monster Energy Drinks
- Full Throttle Energy Drink
- NOS Energy Drink
- 5-Hour Energy
- Rockstar Energy Drinks
- HiBall Energy Drink
Advocare Spark Flavors
Advocare Spark powdered energy drink has the following delicious flavors you can try to suit your taste.
- Mandarin orange
- Fruit punch
- Mango strawberry
- Pink lemonade
- Green apple
- Blue raspberry
Where can you buy Advocare Spark energy drink?
Advocare Spark energy drinks are available for $54.99 (42 servings) per canister on their official website.
However, you should constantly research prices and shipping charges before purchasing anything online because they may differ from one retailer to another.
Advocare Spark energy drink is not a gluten-free commodity.
The beverage was not produced in a gluten-free factory, and it was never promoted as gluten-free. It’s worth knowing that it’s sugar-free, even if it’s not gluten-free. Other persons with sugar-sensitive diseases can safely consume this energy drink.
Despite knowing all this information, you must still evaluate the amount of Advocare energy drink you will consume. Caffeine tolerance varies by individual. Therefore we must be cautious about how much energy drink we consume.
Always do your homework before making assumptions about what’s in the back of your beverages.
Click here to view the visual Story version of this article.