Is Zipfizz Gluten-Free? (Detailed Answer)

Tubes of Zipfizz Energy Drink.
Zipfizz is gluten-free and can be consumed without fear.

Gluten may be present in cereals, including wheat, barley, rye, and triticale, a hybrid between wheat and rye.

Celiac disease and other gluten-related medical problems can be managed with a gluten-free diet. This sort of diet is also gaining favor among those who aren’t gluten-intolerant.

But, is Zipfizz energy drink gluten-free?

The ingredients on the Zipfizz package are gluten-free by definition. They also labeled their product as gluten-free. However, it’s almost hard to identify the origin of each component to guarantee it was made in a gluten-free factory, as it is with many “gluten-free” goods.

So, let’s dig deeper to know more about the facts.

What is a gluten-free diet?

A gluten-free diet is one in which gluten-containing items are avoided.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale, among other grains.

Some gluten-free eaters shun excessively processed bread, spaghetti, and other baked foods. People shun highly processed, unhealthy meals, which can contribute to weight loss and improved general health.

A gluten-free diet is a requirement for certain people. In these situations, a person is most likely suffering from celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

Gluten intolerance is similar to other food allergies and diseases in that a person who cannot properly digest gluten may get unwell after consuming it.

Gluten-Free Foods

It may appear that eliminating gluten from your diet is a difficult and restrictive effort. Fortunately, many gluten-free meals are both nutritious and tasty.

The most cost-effective and healthy approach to follow a gluten-free diet is to eat naturally gluten-free foods, such as the following.

  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Meat and poultry
  • Fish and seafood
  • Dairy
  • Beans, legumes, and nuts

What is celiac disease?

Celiac disease, also known as celiac sprue or gluten-sensitive enteropathy, is an immunological reaction to gluten, a protein in wheat, rye, and other grains.

When patients with celiac disease absorb gluten (a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley), their bodies launch an attack on the small intestine. 

This response destroys the small intestine lining over time, preventing it from absorbing certain nutrients (malabsorption). Diarrhea, tiredness, weight loss, bloating, and anemia are common symptoms of intestinal injury, which can progress to significant problems.

Celiac disease has no cure, although adopting a gluten-free diet can help control symptoms and promote intestinal repair in most patients.

A bucket of apples.
Fruits are free from gluten and can be easily consumed in a gluten-free diet.

Does gluten-free mean no sugar?

Gluten-free products contain more sugar than those products that contain gluten.

Gluten is necessary for the food-making process because it gives meals their characteristic textures and tastes. Because gluten-free goods cannot combine gluten, flavor and taste enhancers are typically substituted with additional fat, sugar, and salt.

However, if you must have a gluten-free diet, you must keep track of your daily sugar consumption. As a point of comparison, the highest daily sugar consumption suggested by the AHA is 36g for men and 25g for women.

Side Effects of Sugar

Excess sugar consumption can contribute to a variety of health problems, including the following.

  • Tooth decay
  • Obesity
  • Diabetes
  • High blood pressure

Does a gluten-free diet give you more energy?

A gluten-free diet provides you with more energy than a regular diet, as long as you consume fewer processed foods.

Smoothies in glasses.
Natural and healthy foods can provide us with more energy.

Though no studies have authenticated that gluten-free diets increase energy levels, eating more veggies, fruits, and nuts than processed meals will make you feel more stimulated and less weary.

Increase your expenditure on nutritious, natural foods to achieve a well-balanced gluten-free diet. Your energy levels will stay low even if you eat a lot of gluten-free refreshments.

Nutrition Facts of Zipfizz Energy Drink

Here’s a table showing Zipfizz energy drink nutrition facts.

NutrientsAmount Per Serving
Calories20
Total Carb2g
Vitamin C500mg
Vitamin E7.5mg
Thiamin0.6mg
Riboflavin0.65mg
Niacin8mg
Vitamin B60.85mg
Folate200mcg DFE
(120mcg folic acid)
Vitamin B122,500mcg
Pantothenic acid2.5mg
Calcium60mg
Magnesium105mg
Zinc5.5mg
Selenium27.5mcg
Copper0.25mg
Manganese1.15mg
Chromium17.5mcg
Sodium70mg
Potassium950mg
Zipfizz energy drink nutrition facts.

Calories in Zipfizz Energy Drink

Zipfizz energy drink contains 20 calories per serving.

Calories are a unit of measurement for how much energy a portion of food provides.

A calorie is an energy unit and diet associate with the energy individuals obtain through food and drink and the energy they expend during physical activity.

Calories are included on all food packaging in the nutritional information. Calorie restriction is at the heart of many weight-loss strategies. Calories are necessary for human survival. The trick is to consume the proper amount of food.

While food quality is crucial for a balanced diet, quantity is also an important consideration. It’s a good idea to check a calorie database and nutrition labels frequently, especially if you’re trying to maintain or lose weight, to see how much fuel you’re receiving to power your daily activities – and whether it’s too much. After all, those additional calories are converted to body fat.

The 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines propose different calorie intakes depending on age, gender, and amount of physical activity. Adult women can consume 1,600 to 2,400 calories per day, whereas adult men can consume 2,000 to 3,000 calories per day.

Zipfizz Energy Drink Ingredients

The ingredients of Zipfizz energy drinks are the following:

  • Alpha-Lipoic extract
  • Green tea leaf extract
  • Grape skin extract
  • Grape seed extract
  • Green coffee bean extract

Other Ingredients

The other ingredients of the Zipfizz energy drink include the following:

  • Citric Acid
  • Potassium Carbonate
  • Glucose Polymers
  • Malic Acid
  • Calcium Ascorbate
  • Magnesium Glycinate
  • Potassium Bicarbonate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Natural Color
  • Silica
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Taurine
  • Sucralose
  • Zinc Amino Acid Chelate
  • Xylitol
  • Methylcobalamine

Here’s a table to show you whether the ingredients of the Zipfizz energy drinks are gluten-free or not.

IngredientsGluten-Free Or Not?
Alpha-Lipoic extractGluten-Free
Green tea leaf extract Gluten-Free
Grape skin extract Gluten-Free
Grape seed extract Gluten-Free
Green coffee bean extract Gluten-Free
Citric Acid Gluten-Free
Potassium Carbonate Gluten-Free
Glucose Polymers Gluten-Free
Malic Acid Gluten-Free
Calcium Ascorbate Gluten-Free
Magnesium Glycinate Gluten-Free
Potassium Bicarbonate Gluten-Free
Natural Flavor Gluten-Free
Natural Color Gluten-Free
Silica Gluten-Free
Potassium Citrate Gluten-Free
Taurine Gluten-Free
Sucralose Gluten-Free
Zinc Amino Acid Chelate Gluten-Free
Xylitol Gluten-Free
Methylcobalamine Gluten-Free
The ingredients of Zipfizz are said to be gluten-free.

As shown in the table above, all the ingredients of Zipfizz energy drinks are considered gluten-free. Green tea and grape extracts are naturally gluten-free. Some ingredients are also certified to be gluten-free.

Although sucralose has not been tested for cross-contamination, there are no gluten-containing ingredients used to produce sucralose.

Since Zipfizz is labeled as a gluten-free energy drink and its ingredients are gluten-free, you can drink it without worries. However, it’s best to consult your doctor if you have health conditions.

Is Caffeine Gluten-Free?

The caffeine content of the Zipfizz energy drink is 100mg per serving and is gluten-free.

Caffeine is probably a part of your everyday routine if you’re like most individuals. But do you realize how much caffeine is in your favorite beverages?

Most individuals can tolerate up to 400 mg of caffeine per day, the recommended limit set by the FDA.

Caffeine is most often used to heighten mental alertness, but it also has various other applications. Caffeine is used to administer migraine headaches by mouth or rectally in conjunction with analgesics (such as aspirin and acetaminophen) and a substance called ergotamine.

It’s also used in conjunction with pain relievers to treat uncomplicated headaches and prevent and treat headaches following epidural anesthesia.

Zipfizz contains caffeine that comes from biological compounds, including the guarana plant and green tea. Coffee is the main ingredient in the Zipfizz energy drink mix, and it gives you the boost you need to develop your physical and mental performance.

If you’re bothered by headaches, restlessness, or anxiety, you might want to reconsider your caffeine intake. Caffeine should also be avoided by women who are pregnant, attempting to get pregnant or nursing.

Caffeine side-effects

Excessive consumption of caffeine can lead to several health issues which include the following.

  • Anxiety
  • Insomnia
  • Digestive Issue
  • Muscle Breakdown
  • High Blood Pressure

Here’s a YouTube video to help you know more about the negative effects of caffeine on health.

Consuming too much caffeine can cause adverse effects.

Are artificial sweeteners used in Zipfizz gluten-free?

Zipfizz energy drink mix contains sucralose and xylitol as substitutes for sugar and they are gluten-free.

Sucralose

Sucralose is the artificial sweetener most often found in the “Splenda” brand. It is calorie-free and possesses a sweetness that is 600 times sweeter than sugar.

It may also be made in a laboratory setting by replacing certain sugar hydrogen-oxygen groups with chlorine atoms. The FDA feels it is safe, despite concerns about how it may affect a person’s health.

This is due to its chemical structure, which prevents it from being absorbed by the system during digestion.

Sucralose is a gluten-free sweetener commonly used in gluten-free soft beverages, cookies, and other sweets. It’s a type of artificial sweetener that’s not the same as protein.

Sucralose is made from sugar and other organic compounds as raw materials, and it has very little gluten contamination.

Xylitol

Xylitol is an alcohol found in a variety of plant materials, including vegetables and fruits, and is derived from birch wood.

Xylitol is a sugar replacement commonly used in “sugar-free” chewing gums, mints, and other sweets.

Xylitol is used to check cavities. It’s also required to forestall tooth decay and ear infections (otitis media), among other things, but there’s no scientific proof to back up these claims.

Xylitol is a gluten-free sugar replacement that is commonly used in gluten-free foods to create a sweet flavor. Xylitol is an isolated polyalcohol or sugar alcohol that differs considerably from protein. Corn cobs are utilized as raw materials in the production of Xylitol, which has very little gluten contamination.

Is Taurine Gluten-Free?

Taurine is a gluten-free amino acid that contains sulfur and helps in metabolism.

An opened can of energy drink.
Taurine plays an important role in almost every energy drink.

Taurine is an amino acid present throughout the body, with the heart, retina, muscle cells, brain, and antibodies having the highest concentration. Because it was initially extracted from bovine bile in 1827 by German scientists Friedrich Tiedemann and Leopold Gmelin, the term “taurine” comes from the Latin word Taurus, which meaning bull or ox.

Taurine is gluten-free and frequently utilized in gluten-free foods and beverages as a nutritional supplement. Taurine’s raw components are chemical compounds that have been manufactured. Hence, the manufacturing process is gluten-free. Taurine, therefore, is gluten-free.

Other Gluten-Free Energy Drinks

If you are looking for other gluten-free energy drink powder, you can try the G Fuel energy drink.

The gluten-free status of G Fuel powdered energy drink has been formally certified. It’s a sugar-free, low-calorie energy drink similar to Zipfizz Energy. It’s full of vitamins and minerals that will keep you energized while you’re gaming.

If you are contemplating gluten-free canned energy drinks, here’s a handy list of them.

  • Red Bull
  • Monster Energy Drinks
  • Full Throttle Energy Drink
  • NOS Energy Drink
  • 5-Hour Energy
  • Rockstar Energy Drinks
  • HiBall Energy Drink

Zipfizz Energy Drink Flavors

Zipfizz energy drink has 12 unique, delicious flavors as follows.

  • Orange Soda
  • Grape
  • Fruit Punch
  • Blue Raspberry
  • Pink Lemonade
  • Berry
  • Black Cherry
  • Citrus
  • Orange Cream
  • Pink Grapefruit
  • Lemon Iced Tea
  • Piña Colada

Where can you buy Zipfizz energy drink?

You can purchase Zipfizz on its official website for $37.99 per 20 tubes.

The other options include the following.

Final Thoughts

Zipfizz is a low-caloriesugar-free powdered energy drink loaded with vitamins, minerals, and amino acids to improve response times and focus. It is good for those who are looking for a quick boost in energy.

In sum, there are no gluten traces in the Zipfizz energy drink ingredients. If you are gluten intolerant, you can enjoy Zipfizz without worry because Zipfizz has officially confirmed the gluten-free status of this energy drink.

Relevant Articles

Tim Anderson

I like to write about energy drinks and play video games. I hope the information that I share on this website are useful for you.

Recent Posts