Is G Fuel Vegan? (In-Depth Answer)

G Fuel tub
G Fuel energy formula can help boost your energy and endurance.

G Fuel is a caffeinated energy drink supplement that improves focus and reaction time in gamers. It can be a good option for you if you need an extra kick during a long gaming session.

But let’s get straight to the point, is G Fuel vegan?

Unfortunately, the answer is no. According to G Fuel’s official Twitter account, G Fuel is not vegan-compliant.

To give you a brief background, a vegan diet consists solely of plants (such as vegetables, grains, and fruits) and plant-based meals.

Vegans do not consume food that comes from animals, such as dairy products and eggs. When shopping for foods or beverages, you can also look for a label that says the product is “Suitable for Vegans” or a “Vegan Certified” logo.

If you want to learn more about G Fuel’s ingredients and why exactly it’s not vegan, keep reading.

G Fuel Ingredients

G Fuel energy drinks powder ingredients at the back of the tub
Here’s the list of G Fuel’s complex ingredients at the back of the tub.

G Fuel has plenty of ingredients and energy complexes. Let’s take a closer look at each of the components of the G Fuel energy drink.

Energy Complex

G Fuel’s energy complex ingredients include Taurine, L-Citrulline Malate, Glucuronolactone, and N-Acetyl-L-Carnitine. These ingredients can help boost your energy levels and performance.

Taurine

Taurine is an amino acid that is used for athletic performance, energy boosts, diabetes, and other conditions, but there is no clear scientific evidence to back up these claims.

The taurine present in G Fuel is made from a synthetic source. However, Taurine can be produced by the body and is also found in various foods such as meat, fish, and dairy.

L-Citrulline Malate

L-Citrulline is an amino acid that has been derived from watermelon. It can also be found in legumes, meat, and nuts.

This ingredient helps in the improvement of athletic performance and the treatment of heart failure. It also helps in the opening of veins and arteries, improving blood flow and lowering blood pressure.

Glucuronolactone

Glucuronolactone is a chemical that the body can produce. It can also be found in foods and is manufactured in laboratories

It is often used as an ingredient in energy drinks to boost athletic performance and increase attention.

N-Acetyl-L-Carnitine

N-Acetyl-L-Carnitine is an amino acid that helps the body turn fat into energy.

It can help reduce tiredness and post-work fatigue, as well as the improvement of memory and thinking abilities. It can be found in animal-based foods such as beef, poultry, milk, and cheese.

Focus Complex

The focus complex of G Fuel’s ingredients consists of L-Tyrosine, Choline Bitartrate, Adenosine-5 Triphosphate Disodium Salt (ATP), Toothed Clubmoss, and plant extracts. These ingredients can help improve your focus and memory.

L-Tyrosine

L-Tyrosine is a type of amino acid that helps improve memory and mental performance, as well as prevents the effects of sleep deprivation.

Sources of L-Tyrosine include dairy products, meats, fish, eggs, nuts, beans, and oats. This is also the main reason why G Fuel is not vegan-compliant. The L-Tyroyrosine found in G Fuel came from animal sources.

Choline Bitartrate

Choline is quite similar to B Vitamins. It is used to improve memory and mental function, as well as avoid certain birth abnormalities and other conditions.

It is produced in the liver and can also be found in meats, fish, nuts, beans, vegetables, and eggs.

Adenosine-5 Triphosphate Disodium Salt (ATP)

ATP provides energy to our cells but it has no noticeable effect when ingested orally. Though it’s an interesting ingredient, it doesn’t bring any notable change in G Fuel overall.

ATP disodium supplementation can help improve cardiovascular health, muscular performance, body composition, and recovery while reducing muscle breakdown and fatigue.

Toothed Clubmoss

Toothed Clubmoss is a pretty common herb used for various treatments, such as Alzheimer’s and memory disorders. Though the question of whether it’s beneficial to health or not has not been resolved yet.

G Fuel didn’t reveal the amount they added to their energy drink supplement.

Antioxidant Complex

The antioxidant complex in the G Fuel energy drinks supplement contains the following fruit powders and extracts.

  • Pomegranate fruit extract
  • Pineapple fruit powder
  • Sour cherry fruit powder
  • Orange fruit powder
  • Raspberry fruit powder
  • Grape seed powder
  • Grapefruit powder
  • Plum fruit powder
  • Blueberry fruit powder
  • Strawberry fruit powder
  • Watermelon fruit powder
  • Lime fruit powder
  • Lemon fruit powder
  • Melon fruit powder
  • Apple fruit powder
  • Papaya fruit powder
  • Peach fruit powder
  • Pyrus communis fruit powder
Fruits in a bowl
Good food is essential to good health.

Other Ingredients

Other ingredients of G Fuel are Maltodextrin and Citric acid.

Maltodextrin

Maltodextrin is an additive, commonly used as a thickener or filler in processed foods to increase volume. It also acts as a preservative, extending the shelf life of packaged foods.

Maltodextrin has a high glycemic index (GI), which means it might cause a blood sugar increase. It is safe to consume in very small amounts, however, diabetics should be especially cautious.

Citric Acid

Citric acid is mostly found in lemon. It helps add flavor and brings balance to the pH value of energy drinks.

Citric acid helps with energy metabolism, prevention of kidney disease, and mineral absorption.

Are G Fuel ingredients vegan?

Although it is quite easy to assume that G Fuel is vegan-friendly, unfortunately, that is not the case.

I’ve included a table below to help you understand the ingredients and their sources in a better light.

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs it Vegan?
Taurine Amino acid; helps stimulate metabolismSyntheticYes
L-Citrulline MalateAmino acid; improves athletic performancePlant-basedYes
CaffeineStimulantSynthetic/Plant-basedYes
GlucuronolactoneHelps improve your attention span and athletic performanceSyntheticYes
N-Acetyl-L-CarnitineBurns fatSynthetic/OrganicUnclear
L-TyrosineAmino acidAnimal-sourceNo
Choline BitartrateMuscle growth and delaying fatigueSynthetic/OrganicUnclear
Adenosine-5 Triphosphate Disodium Salt (ATP)Used by cells for energy, does nothing when consumed orallySynthetic/OrganicYes
Toothed ClubmossPlant extractPlant-basedYes
Aerial Parts ExtractPlant extractPlant-basedYes
Bacopa Leaf ExtractPlant extractPlant-basedYes
Fruit PowdersPowdered fruit; adds flavor and other nutrientsPlant-basedYes
MaltodextrinThickening agent and preservativeSyntheticYes
Citric AcidNatural preservative; adds a sour taste to the drinkPlant-based/syntheticYes
Silicon DioxideAnti-caking agentSyntheticYes
Acesulfame PotassiumArtificial sweetenerSyntheticYes
SucraloseArtificial SweetenerSyntheticYes
A breakdown of whether G Fuel ingredients are vegan.

Is L-Tyrosine in G Fuel vegan?

L-Tyrosine is often derived of plants and synthetics. But some of it comes from an animal source which makes it a non-vegan ingredient.

L-Tyrosine is an amino acid that helps in improving mental performance, alertness, or memory. It is also used to treat depression or attention deficit disorder. But whether it’s vegan or not is a different story.

Caffeine in G Fuel

Spilled coffee beans
Caffeine can provide a significant boost to your energy levels.

One serving or 7g sachet of G Fuel contains 140-150 mg of caffeine.

Though the amount is high, it’s quite common among almost every energy drink.

As I prefer to consume 100-200 mg of caffeine per day, G Fuel’s caffeine content is not that high.

So, I can drink G Fuel energy drinks once in a while without experiencing any side effects. However, 150 mg can be a pretty high amount depending on your metabolism.

On the bright side, since you can portion or adjust each serving of G Fuel, you can enjoy these energy drinks even if you’re a bit sensitive to caffeine.

But you should never overdo it as the recommended amount of caffeine intake set by the FDA is 400 mg per day. Overdose of caffeine might lead to the following health issues.

  • Insomnia
  • Dizziness
  • Nausea
  • Palpitation
  • Altered heartbeat
  • Headache
  • Stomachache
  • Dehydration
  • Anxiety

Sugar in G Fuel

Say no to sugar
Too much sugar can lead to various health issues.

G Fuel is sugar-free.

Since G Fuel doesn’t use sugar in its supplement, you won’t have to worry about gaining weight while drinking this particular brand of energy drink.

Many experts say that consuming sugar in a moderate amount is fine, but excessive consumption can lead to metabolism issues beyond just weight gain.

The following are the effects of overconsumption of sugar.

  • Obesity
  • Diabetes
  • Increased insulin and glucose level
  • High blood pressure
  • Heart disease

Artificial Sweeteners in G Fuel

Instead of using table sugar, G Fuel uses sucralose and acesulfame potassium as artificial sweeteners.

Sucralose

Sucralose is a zero-calorie artificial sweetener that is used in G Fuel as a substitute for sugar.

Sucralose, also known as Splenda, is 400-600 times sweeter than regular sugar. It prevents gaining unwanted body weight while drinking energy drinks and wouldn’t trigger sugar crashes if you consume too much of it.

Sucralose has been approved by the FDA as a healthy alternative to sugar. As the effects of long-term use of artificial sugar are still unknown, it’s best not to make it a habit of drinking energy drinks every day.

Acesulfame Potassium

Acesulfame potassium, also known as Ace K, is a calorie-free sugar substitute that is 200 times sweeter than sugar.

That means that the manufacturer can use it in a small amount. It also means that the number of calories and carbohydrates will be pretty low.

That’s great news, but you need to keep in mind that Ace K is not a natural ingredient. Also, there’s still uncertainty about the long-term effect of such artificial sweeteners on the body.

Is G Fuel gluten-free?

G Fuel doesn’t contain any traces of barley, wheat, or rye products.

Please keep in mind that just because it’s gluten-free or sugar-free it can be consumed every day. I suggest you try to keep the serving to the minimum if it can be helped.

While the energy drink formula powder is gluten-free, the canned product is manufactured in a facility that processes wheat.

So, there might be traces of wheat within the canned drink and it might be a problem for those who are suffering from celiac disease.

Is G Fuel keto-friendly?

As the keto diet is an extremely low carbohydrate diet, G Fuel might be a good choice, although many other energy drinks might work even better.

The ketogenic diet aims to promote the metabolism of fat into ketone bodies to provide the main source of energy. It has plenty of health purposes such as weight loss and general health improvement.

A regular sachet of G Fuel contains 25 calories which are not harmful if you can manage it according to your diet chart.

G Fuel Flavors

There are more than 35 flavors to choose from. Surely, you can find whichever flavor you like and enjoy. I have listed a few of the flavors below for your convenience.

  • Bahama Mama
  • Battle Juice
  • Clickbait
  • Blue Ice
  • Bubble Gum
  • Cherry Limeade
  • Nemesis Tea
  • Rainbow Sherbet
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Star Fruit
  • Shiny Splash
  • Snow Cone
  • Wumpa Fruit
  • Tropical Rain

Here’s a video about maintaining a vegan diet that you might find interesting.

Vegan and plant-based diets might help you lose weight.

Conclusion

G Fuel is filled with healthy ingredients such as amino acids, vitamins, and antioxidants. It also contains 140-150 mg caffeine which is far away from the FDA limit.

G Fuel is a good energy drink for those who lead a busy life and want a quick boost in energy. But if you are a principled vegan looking for a vegan-friendly energy drink, G Fuel might not be the right choice for you because one of its ingredients is sourced from animals.

Tim Anderson

I like to write about energy drinks and play video games. I hope the information that I share on this website are useful for you.

Recent Posts