Is Extra Joss Gluten-Free? (In-Depth Analysis)

A packet of Extra Joss.
Extra Joss is a decent energy beverage and doesn’t include any trace of gluten in its ingredients.

Extra Joss is an Asian energy drink designed primarily for persons who lead active lives. It will give you the energy and stamina you need to complete strenuous and physically demanding activities.

Have you ever wondered if Extra Joss is gluten-free if you’re on a gluten-free diet?

Extra Joss includes ingredients that don’t have any trace of gluten in them. So, we can state that Extra Joss is gluten-free and can be consumed by individuals on a gluten-free diet.

If you want to learn more about Extra Joss, keep reading.

What is Extra Joss?

Extra Joss is an energy drink that supports a distinct lifestyle and enables you to work hard and engage in strenuous activities.

Extra Joss is an energy drink powder that incorporates 50mg of caffeine, which is quite low for people with high caffeine tolerance.

It challenges to re-energize your workday and is an ideal pre-sport or pre-workout accumulation. The tropical fruit flavor is pleasant and has zero sugar. It has a few other essential elements that function together to boost your metabolism, confidence, physical endurance, and enhance your senses.

Pros and Cons

Like every other thing, Extra Joss has positive and negative aspects on its own, and it’s time to describe the pros and cons of the Extra Joss energy drink supplement.

The pros and cons of Extra Joss have been added in the listing below.


The pros of Extra Joss have been added to the listing below.

  • Improves metabolism
  • Enhances brain function
  • Helps to stay physically active


The cons of Extra Joss have been added to the listing below.

  • A bit low in caffeine
  • Doesn’t provide enough boost
  • Insomnia
  • Dehydration
  • Anxiety

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a family of proteins commonly detected in grains, such as wheat, rye, barley, and spelt. It has several benefits in bread commodities. It’s also commonly applied as an additive to improve texture and promote moisture retention in different processed food products.

There’s a variety of whole and processed foods that contain gluten such as follows:

  • whole wheat
  • wheat bran
  • barley
  • wheat germ
  • cracked wheat
  • crackers
  • bread
  • breadcrumbs
  • pasta
  • soba noodles
  • veggie burgers
  • cookies and pastries
  • barley malt
  • soy sauce
  • bouillon
  • beer

What is a gluten-free diet?

Gluten is a type of protein that you can mainly discover in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale. A gluten-free diet is an eating plan where gluten-containing foods are bypassed. 

It is crucial to follow a gluten-free diet to avoid the symptoms of celiac disease and other diseases caused by gluten.

Moreover, people without any disease or health troubles are also adapting to a gluten-free diet as it is very beneficial for their health. Improved health, enhanced energy, and reduced weight are some benefits of a gluten-free diet. However, there is still some research left in this particular zone. 

A bowl of cereal.
Gluten can be discovered in different types of grains.

Gluten-Free Foods

You can easily consume a healthy diet while bypassing gluten products.

A gluten-free diet should be concentrated on particular foods, which include the following:

  • Fresh fruits and vegetables
  • Gluten-free baked foods like waffles, pancakes, and bread
  • Lean proteins 

What is celiac disease?

Celiac disease, commonly known as celiac sprue, is an immunological and digestive illness affecting the small intestine.

Gluten is to blame for the onset of this illness. After swallowing gluten, a celiac patient’s body assaults the virus, causing damage to the villi. The small intestine’s nutrients are protected and absorbed by this finger-like protrusion.

Symptoms of Celiac Disease

It is really difficult to diagnose celiac disease since it affects everyone in different ways. Additionally, there are over 200 symptoms associated with these circumstances.

The disease is occasionally diagnosed as a child, while in other cases, it is diagnosed as an adult. However, the cause of this disease is still unrecognized

People who have celiac disease experience the subsequent symptoms:

  • Diarrhea 
  • Anemia
  • Growth issues
  • Anxiety
  • Fatigue

I have added a YouTube video explaining celiac disease to help you know more about this.

Here’s a detailed video about celiac disease.

Is Extra Joss gluten-free?

Extra Joss doesn’t have ingredients that include gluten, but no official statement has been made.

If you take a deep look at the ingredients list, you will find that the ingredients of Extra Joss do not incorporate any elements that are related to any traces of wheat, barley, rye, and spelt.

However, any official statement is yet to be made on such a matter.

Supplement Facts of Extra Joss

The nutrition facts provide necessary pieces of information about how much nutrients you are going to obtain in a product.

Let’s know more about the supplement facts of Extra Joss in the table below.

NutrientsAmount Per ServingRecommended Daily Intake
Vitamin B23mg1.7mg
Vitamin B316mg20mg
Vitamin B55mg10mg
Vitamin B61.5mg2mg
Vitamin B9100mcg400mcg
Vitamin B121mcg6mcg
Supplement facts of Extra Joss.

Upon taking a closer look at the table, you will find that Extra Joss includes no calories, no sugar, and no carbohydrates and includes a meager amount of caffeine with crucial vitamins.

Supplement facts of Extra Joss.
Supplement facts of Extra Joss.

Does gluten-free mean no carbs?

It’s not true that eating gluten-free means eating no carbs at all. They are two distinct labels.

The purpose of a gluten-free diet is to avoid gluten, which can be found in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale grains. You could be perplexed because both diets require the elimination of specific foods in order to achieve their objectives.

On the other hand, these two are not the same.

Calories and Carbohydrates in Extra Joss

Extra Joss is a low-calorie, low-carbohydrate energy booster.

Extra Joss has no calories per serving, making it ideal for those on a diet who need to increase their calorie intake. Even if you aren’t, drinking this beverage allows you to consume more calories while staying on track with your diet.

This beverage is also sugar-free and carb-free, providing several health benefits and assisting you in maintaining an active and healthy lifestyle without gaining weight.

Side Effects of Calories and Carbohydrates

The possible side effects of calories and carbohydrates have been added in the listing below.

  • Cardiovascular diseases
  • Risk of type 2 diabetes
  • Gallstones
  • Cancers, especially endometrial cancer
  • Poor metabolic health
  • High blood sugar

Does Extra Joss have sugar?

Extra Joss does not contain any sugar in its formula.

Sugar, a format of carbohydrates, is a great source of energy for the human body. It boosts your mood and supports you to stay energized throughout the day. 

Extra Joss does not have any sugar in its formula, which means you can easily consume this energy beverage without worrying about sugar crashes or jitters. Moreover, it also won’t have any effect on sugar blood status.

According to American Health Association (AHA), the daily prescribed volume of sugar is 26g for women and 36g for men.

Side Effects of Sugar

Sometimes the excessive use of sugar may result in the following health issues:

  • Weight gain
  • Depression 
  • Anxiety
  • Headache

Ingredients of Extra Joss

Extra Joss incorporates a few ingredients that might deliver significant boost energy and render you with necessary nutrients you might require to stay active and healthy.

The ingredients of Extra Joss energy have been added to the listing below.

IngredientsGluten-free Or Not?
Ginseng ExtractGluten-free
Royal JellyGluten-free
Vitamin B2Gluten-free
Vitamin B3Gluten-free
Vitamin B5Gluten-free
Vitamin B6Gluten-free
Acesulfame PotassiumGluten-free
Flavor Gluten-free
Citric AcidGluten-free
The ingredients table of Extra Joss

Upon taking a closer look at the ingredients table, you can see that all the ingredients included in this formulation do not have any trace of gluten. Thus, they can be considered gluten-free. So, you can say that Extra Joss is gluten-free.

Is caffeine in Extra Joss gluten-free?

Caffeine is the natural stimulant present in tea, coffee, and cacao dust. It also can be derived from coffee beans. So it’s gluten-free and can provide you with loads of benefits.

One of the benefits of caffeine is that it upholds you mentally and physically fit and awake throughout the day.  The amount of caffeine present in this energy liquid is enough to keep you energized throughout the day.

You can get a moderate amount of 50mg gluten-free caffeine in a single sachet of Extra Joss. And that amount can provide you with several benefits

According to the FDA, the recommended amount of caffeine is 400mg per day, a lot more than the amount present in this energy beverage.

Side Effects of Caffeine

Sometimes the high intake of caffeine may result in several health problems like:

  • Headache
  • Anxiety
  • Insomnia
  • Sleep deprivation

Are the artificial sweeteners used in Extra Joss gluten-free?

Extra Joss uses aspartame and acesulfame potassium and both of them are gluten-free.

Acesulfame potassium is a gluten-free artificial sweetener in white crystalline powder and is commonly utilized in gluten-free food products to provide a sweet taste.

In manufacturing, acesulfame potassium, different organic substances, and potassium hydroxide are utilized and don’t include any gluten impurity.

On the other hand, aspartame is another popular sweetener in the shape of granules or powder and is colored white. It doesn’t employ any substance that has a presence of gluten during the manufacturing process.

Powdered sugar.
Both aspartame and acesulfame potassium are gluten-free.

Side Effects of Artificial Sweeteners

The side effects of consuming artificial sweeteners in excessive amounts have been provided below.

  • Headaches
  • Dizziness
  • Bloating
  • Nausea
  • Diarrhea
  • Digestive problems

Are the other ingredients of Extra Joss gluten-free?

Extra Joss uses ginseng extract, royal jelly, and taurine which are gluten-free.

Ginseng extract was being used in Chinese treatment for centuries. It’s a slow-growing, short plant and with pulpy roots. It can provide you with several health benefits, such as:

  • Sharper brain function
  • Reduces inflammation
  • Increased energy
  • Treatment of erectile dysfunction
  • Flu prevention
  • Lowering blood sugar
  • Boosts immune system

Royal jelly is a milky secretion produced by the worker bee and functions as food for their queen. In addition, some people use it as medicine and presents various health benefits, including:

  • Relief of menopause symptoms
  • Helps in wound healing
  • Reduces glucose level in the blood
  • Lessens premenstrual syndrome

Taurine is a type of amino acid common in an energy beverage because research shows that it can enhance mental performance when mixed with caffeine.

It can also provide you with health benefits that include:

  • Fights diabetes
  • Improves heart health
  • Boosts exercise performance
  • Improves eyesight and hearing
  • Reduces seizures
  • Liver protection
  • Improved sports performance

If you want to know more about the nutritional content of this energy drink mix, you can check the article Extra Joss Caffeine and Ingredients.

Can Extra Joss trigger a wheat allergy?

Extra Joss doesn’t trigger wheat allergy since it has no fractions of wheat.

Wheat allergy is an allergic response to a food that has wheat. And the primary treatment is excluding wheat from your diet chart. Most of the time, it gets confused with celiac disease.

The symptoms of wheat allergy are listed below.

  • swelling of mouth and throat irritation
  • itchy rashes
  • swelling of the skin
  • nasal congestion
  • headache
  • difficulty of breathing
  • Cramps
  • nausea, or vomiting
  • diarrhea
  • anaphylaxis

Is Extra Joss good for you?

If you have a moderate consumption of Extra Joss, it will not cause any adverse effects.

Extra Joss contains caffeine which will supply you with a significant boost of energy level. And if it’s consumed moderately, you may experience the following benefits.

  • Provides additional supplements
  • Feel refreshed
  • Improves physical performance
  • Improves brain function
  • Reduces tiredness
  • Enhances alertness

It also contains B Vitamins which are crucial for various body functions and help in the promotion of:

  • cell health
  • growth of red blood cells
  • energy levels
  • good eyesight
  • healthy brain function
  • good digestion
  • healthy appetite
  • proper nerve function
  • hormones and cholesterol production
  • cardiovascular health
  • muscle tone

How many Extra Joss can you have in a day?

You can have one serving of Extra Joss per day. However, if you need an extra boost in energy, you can drink two servings occasionally.

Drinking a serving of Extra Joss in a day can offer you 50mg of caffeine. And it can give you an energy boost to finish your assignment. But, there are times that multiple tasks and activities are needed to accomplish throughout the day, so you need an extra boost at the midpoint of the day.

Moreover, please don’t make it a habit to drink two or more servings of Extra Joss or any energy beverage to avoid caffeine dependency and later result in caffeine withdrawal.

The following are the common indications and symptoms of caffeine withdrawal.

  • headache
  • fatigue
  • anxiety
  • difficulty in concentration
  • depression
  • irritability
  • tremors
  • low energy

So it would be best to limit yourself to one to two servings of Extra Joss per day so you won’t be able to experience caffeine dependency and withdrawal.

Does Extra Joss work?

Extra Joss contains 50mg of caffeine, which will provide you with ample energy and alertness for the day.

Caffeine enters the brain and functions as adrenaline in the body after consumption. It will jolt you awake and provide you with sufficient energy for your performance.

It will take about 5-6 minutes for the caffeine to take action. Extra Joss is sugar-free and not highly caffeinated, so there will be no sugar crash.

Can you drink Extra Joss every day?

You can consume Extra Joss every day but limit yourself to up to two servings per day.

Though Extra Joss isn’t highly caffeinated, it’s still best if you down it occasionally. In my opinion, you should limit yourself up to two servings per day to avoid any negative effects.

If you have phenylketonuria, you should avoid artificial sweeteners like aspartame. But if you’re cutting sugar in your diet, you don’t need to worry since Extra Joss is sugar-free.

Where to buy Extra Joss and price?

You can purchase Extra Joss from the nearest convenience mart or online.

You can also take it from online shops like Amazon and eBay. Extra Joss can be obtained from their official website.

A pack of 30 sachets price ranges around $19 but the price range may vary depending on where you’re buying it from.

A credit card.
Extra Joss is quite cheap and costs only $0.63 per serving.

Flavors of Extra Joss

Extra Joss only includes three flavors as listed below.

  • Extra Joss Original
  • Extra Joss Rasa Mangga (Mango)
  • Extra Joss Rasa Anggur (Grapes)

First I have tried their Extra Joss Original which has a unique taste comparable to a lemon soda and bubbly like a shandy with a slightly bitter aftertaste. It has a very citrus-like flavor but is not that sweet.

Second I have tried their Extra Joss Mango has a tropical flavor with no bitter aftertaste. It is not so bad with a not-so-overpowering mango flavor.

Final Verdict

Extra Joss’ ingredients are completely gluten-free, so it’s a good choice if you have celiac disease or a wheat allergy and need some extra energy. However, if you really want to make sure if Extra Joss is gluten-free, you can simply reach its manufacturer to be more accurate.

It’s gluten-free and sugar-free, which is ideal if you’re trying to cut down on sugar in your diet and lose weight.

It also contains an optimal amount of caffeine, 50mg, which will undoubtedly give advantages while causing no side effects. However, to avoid becoming caffeine dependent, limit yourself to one serving per day or two on rare occasions.

Other Articles:


I like to write about energy drinks and play video games. I hope the information that I share on this website is useful for you.

Recent Posts